Thank you for the memories!

Change is a painful thing. We can try to make it easier on ourselves but getting out of our comfort zone is in itself a huge accomplishment. Change, is more often than not accompanied with a little heartburn till you accept the inevitable and move on. Especially if that change involves settling down in an alien city and leaving behind everyone you loved. Nothing you do after that makes things the same.
But change can be memorable, wonderful even if you are fortunate enough to find the right people to help you along in your journey. Like I was.
People say that you can’t choose your family but you can choose your friends. I don’t know if that’s true. There are only so many people you can meet in your lifetime and of that only so many people you would be truly interested in being friends with. But I think I was lucky to meet you guys. You know who you are, so I won’t be taking names here. You crazy, wonderful people who have become almost family for me, who have made college life worthwhile, who have made Delhi my home, well my second home in any case. It’s like I am almost attached to Delhi with an umbilical cord, because there are so many beautiful memories to get back to and you beautiful people to look forward to.
When I look back, I can’t believe there are people who would actually sit up and listen to my banter till dawn breaks, like it was even a least bit interesting. There are people in my life who listen to my crazy obsessions about New York and the seventies and lust and don’t bat an eyelid. People who buy me Bourneville even though they’re broke only because I did a good deed. People who have made me an expert masseuse and a “palmist”. People who listen to my crazy dreams and make it a point to reply to the observations I text them about when I am flying back home. People who waltz with me and sing songs for me and with me and assure me that I am pretty awesome. People who share wonderful songs with me. People who fill my life with music. People who won’t meet me when they’re in my hometown but will make it a point to call me immediately if I have an existential crises. People who resolve dilemmas for me and plan birthday parties for me from way before just because I can’t help but plan things well in advance. People who make sure I am well fed and well prepared to meet challenges. People who would do everything possible to take care of me when I am probably almost dying or I am overwhelmingly depressed. People who are saving my life on a regular basis, by helping me through numerous loopholes and crises. People who make me alive by filling it with humour, by encouraging me in my endeavours and filling it with their beautiful smile. People who make fictional spies come alive for me, though they probably don’t know that I fantasized about being a spy when I was a kid, because it is oh-so-cool. People who are my counsellors and agony aunts, and every role in between- busy being my big sister and little brother. People who help me shop and make wonderful elaborate plans with me. People who do everything to accommodate my impromptu plans with them. People who give me matter of fact, to the point criticism because they know I need it, even if I didn’t want it. People who stay up with me all night, before an exam. People who never forget an important event in my life though I may have told them about it ages ago. People who are my “partners in crime”. People with whom I can be candid. People who inspire me.
People who hold my hand when I am scared- be it about crossing roads or just something significantly more momentous. People who dish out advice though I may not have asked for it. People who fix me and take care of me and put up with my selfishness.
Thank you- For being there and making it all worthwhile-all the effort and pain and the tears. Thank you for standing by me and standing up for me. Thank you for the memories. I love you even if all this while you thought I was a big pain in the neck. Happy 2013. =)

Leave a comment